Aliens Colonial Marines: First Impressions

aliens

So… I bought the new Aliens game yesterday for forty quid. Being the avid Aliens fanboy that I am, I’ve been wanting to get to grips with this game ever since it was first announced back in 2001 for the PS2, and I’ve been waiting through several years of years of development hell.

Well, after finally managing to pick up a copy for my Xbox, I have to be honest and say Aliens Colonial Marines is a huge letdown. Albeit following on from James Cameron’s awesome sequel, the storytelling is dull, the characters unmemorable and the tension/suspense is practically non-existent.

There’s also a number of little annoyances that I just couldn’t get over: One being how incredibly easy it is to kill Xenomorphs (which is helped further by the lack of acid-blood damage); and the fact that you’ve got to press “X” in order to pick up ammo, rather than simply running over it.

On the plus side, the guns are a big improvement over Aliens Vs. Predator (2010), with Ripley’s pulse rifle/flame thrower being the pick that I’ve played with so far.

Speaking of Aliens Vs. Predator, although far from a great game, I will say at least the creepiness of the films was captured very well (something that Colonial Marines completely fails at doing).

I’ve only briefly played the multiplayer, and I found that incredibly bland. Taking control of the Aliens, especially, I found difficult and far from satisfying.

In fact, after an hour of playing the game in total I was so ridiculously bored that I decided to turn it off.

It’s unlikely, but I may change my mind at a later date. For now, though, I’m feeling incredibly disappointed.

Leave a Reply

