Zia Origin Tattoo

Another day, another tattoo. Though, today was the first of my current sixteen done via bamboo, rather than machine.

The Bamboo Rooms in Shipley host Keng, a Thai Master in the art, who they believe at this moment is the only qualified Bamboo Tattoo Artist working in the UK. A couple of weeks ago I presented him with a basic concept for a design to cover up some writing on my back that came out pretty horrible when I had it down some years ago. Keng drew me a design within a matter of minutes, freehand, which he tattooed into my flesh over the course of five-and-a-half hours today.

It was a slow process, compared to machine tattooing, and the ancient art of imprinting a design into the skin via a needle at the end of a bamboo stick is supposed to be pain free. Though, I must admit, for the duration I did endure a fair amount of pain, particularly around the spine area. Either I’m becoming more of a wimp in my late-twenties, or this method does actually hurt the majority of people.

On the plus side, the design, I must admit, does look fantastic. I was very impressed with the Keng’s attention to detail, and would recommend him to anyone that is looking to get a custom design imprinted by a very passionate artist. There was also no blood at all (not that the sight of blood ever bothered me via machine tattooing), and the healing time, I’ve been told, will be a lot quicker than the typical tattoo done by a machine.

Overall, it was a different, yet very pleasing, experience.

Before:

After:

View and theory behind this, and my other tattoos, by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “Zia Origin Tattoo

  1. Hello Andy!

    Hope you don’t mind but I posted your pic and blog link on my facebook page for Zia tattoos. I live in NM and came across your blog searching for cool Zia tattoos. I just recently started my page as I found so many people have such interested Zia tattoos everywhere I go…now I clearly see they are all over the world! :) Hope you will LIKE the page if you are on facebook and check out the other tattoos as my page grows.

    Hope all is well on your side of the world.

    Theresa

Leave a Reply

