Days Spent in the Company of Vinyl: #1: House of Pain: Same as it Ever was

Vinyl offers the most intimate experience when it comes to listening to music. It’s big, bulky; becoming rarer and getting better with age. Vinyl physically entices us to search through a library of songs that we like; teases us to sit down and dedicate our time to listen and feel the moods of the songs.

I like the little crackles; the time it takes to get up, flip the record to the other side and put the needle on (delicately). I like the way vinyl looks, the way it sounds.

It’s good having good music to accompany you, in its most beautiful form, when you’re awake in the early hours, contemplating, and feeling like life, for that moment, is having a go at understanding you.

Digging in old record shops, having the consent to feel up the classics; the feeling that comes with discovering a new gem and taking the record out the sleeve with the utmost care — you can’t replicate all that with the digital stuff.

Music speaks and listens; and vinyl compliments its soul most of all.

IMG_5292

I must admit I got into it late, around 2003, where I bought my first turntable and spent most of the money from my dead-end job on 12″ Hip-Hop singles to cloud the boredom. Then came the EPs, then the LPs, and now my front room is dominated by its sheer presence and the love doesn’t seem to be fading.

Vinyl surrounds me, at all sides, stares at me from its neat little frames on the various sides of the room. I’m hooked on it. I often find myself just sitting and listening, watching the records spin.

I’m not really what you would call a “vinyl collector”, in the sense I like to track down the rarest of records, regardless of whether I like the actual content or not. I don’t throw money at vinyl to just let it sit on the shelves, still in its shrink wrap, and never let it breathe.

I buy records of favourite albums already owned on CD; or I’ll take a chance and buy an unheard of 12″ single/LP when I’m digging through the crates of a record shop. I don’t buy records based on how expensive they are, how little copies there is, or whether they’re particularly old or new.

I like being able to call upon good music; I like having the physical album in front of me. I’m just into music and think that vinyl is the best format for it.

Even my cat’s started obsessing over it recently. He started jumping around all over the place when I put on House of Pain’s Same as it Ever was the other day.

I picked this up from Ebay for £20. It’s a reissue of the album put out in 1994 and comes in a limited “Irish” green edition. Unfortunately, my camera’s not really any good and doesn’t do the colour of the vinyl justice. Neither does the miserable cat under the cover, for that matter.

pacvinyl

Leave a Reply

