Poem:- Shy Bowel

Memories

(More Toilet Problems)

 

“PARCOPRESIS”

as the medical folks (and WIKIPEDIA)

like to define

is psychogenic

faecal

retention

 

or “the inability to defecate

with other people

around/in other toilets

that aren’t our own.”

 

Let’s call it a fear about going:

 

those (like me) will find it’s often in a crowded, public

place

(like a shopping centre

or the services on the motorway).

No cubicles free/there’s always a queue

 

and the first reaction

is your guts start to rumble

 

you get the sweats

 

and your legs quiver in panic

(knowing full well you should’ve gone before

you left).

 

Or it could be there’s always someone in the cubicle

on either side

of you (whose trousers you can see round

their ankles)

always putting you

off.

 

It’s a mental thing

 

and some of you may laugh

 

but why, oh, why does the throne have to be so close

to everything

 

 

and why does the porcelain

always have to echo

every one of my farts

so everyone outside can hear

me?

 

I wouldn’t give a shit

(even if I could)

 

but I often find myself asking these questions a lot when I’m on

my own, locked

behind a door

 

killing time, trying to take a load

off my mind

(and body).

 

I like my comfort/I like my space

 

with a clean toilet and plenty of toilet roll (but I’m not snobby

or fussy)

 

and I don’t want people going in before

or after
me.

 

[VERSE]

from TALKING OUT MY ARSE (poems inspired by Crohn’s Disease, Hospitals, Public Toilets, Food/Drugs).

 

TALKING OUT MY ARSE ALT FINAL

Leave a Reply

